Review – The Fate of Crowns by: Rebecca L. Garcia

The Fate of Crowns is a world filled with fae and sorcerers where a lie can unravel them all.

With my brother’s death came the crown and all the trappings that accompany it. Now, my father–the most dangerous man in Magaelor–seeks to control my future.

But fate has other plans.

Thrown into mer-filled waters, I’m dragged into the rival kingdom of Berovia. Surrounded by those who murdered my brother and wished my entire family dead, I must find my way back to my kingdom. There, a marriage between myself and the dark fae prince could bring peace to a century’s old division between the fae and sorcerers.
But dark revelations and deadly lies threaten to destroy my destiny. I must make the choice between my duty, family, and heart before it’s too late.

Will I allow myself to become the exalted Queen of everything? Or be reduced to a cautionary tale as the shattered princess of nothing?

The Fate of Crowns is a young adult fantasy, perfect for fans of Sarah J. Maas and Holly Black.

The Fate of Crowns is a magical debut filled with dark plots and twisting adventure. It has such great world-building and a slew of budding characters.

With our protagonist, Winter, she seemed very petty and immature in the beginning of the book. There were a few times I wanted to slap her honestly. Although she was very naive throughout the book, she was also very cunning at times as well. I did feel for her too, as she was bounced around like a pinball in this book. With Winter, I felt like I needed a companion or a constant for her and kept not getting it. You’d grow to like a character, and then they’re gone. The only exception being Morgana which I ended up LOVING her role.

With our side characters, other than Morgana, my favorite hands down was Cedric and Aquarius. Cedric… oh man! I want so much more of him. I honestly was hoping he was going to be our main love interest. Really hoping he returns in the next book and has a huge role. Maybe he’ll even turn out to be a prince or something… one can only hope! Then on the other side, with our dark fae was Blaise. I liked his character, however I wish we were shown there was a bit more of a spark or fire between him and Winter versus us just being told. Their scenes together were a little forced versus developing into something.

One other thing that got to me a bit was that time moved way too quick in the beginning. It seemed a little detached to me. “Months later” and “now I’m sixteen”, I had to stop and try to calculate time in my head. I mean, yes, I’m a math a teacher but I don’t always want to calculate while reading, lol.

Overall though, a really great premise and start to this series. The last 40% of the book was easy to fly through and kept me wanting to see what Winter would choose to do. I am very excited to see where Rebecca takes it next!!

– More a 3.5 out of 5 splatters –

Published by Jena Freeth

30. Boy mom. Book lover. Fitness junkie. Shopaholic.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: