Defiance by: Shelly Crane

Synopsis: In the third installment of the Significance series, we begin with Maggie and Caleb in the clutches of a new enemy; the Virtuoso council. Not only do they have to deal with the consequences of taking the lives of the Watsons and the council attempting to take Maggie away to keep their precious Visionary safe, but they must deal with Marla as well. All are determined to undermine, control and use Caleb and Maggie’s rare gifts for their own uses, some wish to destroy them entirely. Then Maggie’s father and Bish are threatened but the council forbids the presense of humans. Peter and the family fight and stand beside them every step of the way to save Maggie’s father, to keep Caleb and Maggie together when the corrupted council is so set on keeping them apart and to stop Marla and whatever she has up her sleeve. Then Maggie has the shock of her life when she discovers something about her real father. It may change everything for everyone. Stay tuned as the story continues.

Thoughts: I never get tired of getting lost in Caleb and Maggie’s story. Each book, throws them more curve balls, yet lets them grow even more. Defiance is most definitely a page turner that has everything you could ask for.

Defiance picks up right where we left off, Maggie finally gets to put her Visionary title to use while meeting the whole Vituoso clan in London. But, things are never easy for the Jacobson clan. Not only does Maggie now have a new enemy, she needs to win everyone over and learn how to lead… without getting killed of course. Add Caleb to that list and the fact that whole council is against the couple leads to one eventful and thrilling adventure.

Shelly has a way with this series of making you love every minute of the story. It doesn’t matter whether it’s a thrilling part, an exciting part, a sexy part, or a sad part… there’s always something to enjoy about it. It’s the same with the characters. Watching Maggie and Caleb continue their relationship through all the hardships just melts your heart. I want me a Caleb, asap! And even both families (Maggie’s and Caleb’s), are so understanding and so supportive of everything. Remember Rodney? And the evil Watson’s? Don’t worry they’re all back in this fantastic installment as well!

Overall, Defiance is a brilliant continuation of the Significance series. Shelly throws us new curve balls while keeping all the old thrills right under the surface. There’s smiles, tears, and as always an ending that always has me wanting more!

– 5 out of 5 Splatters –

Published by Jena Freeth

30. Boy mom. Book lover. Fitness junkie. Shopaholic.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: